From:Arellano, JoeyTo:FLHouseDemsSubject:FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Rep. Williams to Join Whip Team for 2024 Legislative SessionDate:Tuesday, January 9, 2024 12:49:22 PM

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Jan. 9, 2023

CONTACT

Jackson Peel Communications Director House Democratic Caucus Jackson.Peel@myfloridahouse.gov 850-717-5297

Representative Williams to Join Whip Team for 2024 Legislative Session

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – House Democratic Caucus **Leader Fentrice Driskell (D-Tampa)** is pleased to announce the addition of veteran lawmaker **Representative Patricia Williams (D-Pompano Beach)** to the caucus' deputy whip team. **Representative Williams** was first elected to the House in 2016, and currently serves as Democratic Ranking member for the Education & Employment Committee and the PreK-12 Appropriations Subcommittee.

"I'm excited that we've found a way to use Representative Williams' years of experience to help our members navigate the 2024 legislative session. She's one of the best people in the process, and is one of the most well-liked members of our caucus. I'm a big fan, and am glad she agreed to take on this responsibility," said **Leader Fentrice Driskell.**

"Floridians are counting on us to be their voice now more than ever," said **Representative Williams**. "I look forward to working with my colleagues to ensure Florida House Democrats continue to advocate for what the people of Florida need."

The Democratic Whip is **Representative Christine Hunschofsky (D-Parkland)**, who is aided by a team of deputy whips who provide general assistance and share information to keep the caucus up to speed during the often-fast paced legislative session. The deputy whips for the 2024 session are: **Representative Allison Tant (D-Tallahassee)**, **Representative Kristen Arrington (D-Kissimmee)**, **Representative Michele Rayner (D-St. Petersburg)**, **Representative Patricia Williams (D-Pompano)**, and **Representative Marie Woodson (D-Hollywood)**.

The House Democratic Leadership Team assisting **Leader Driskell** remains the same from last year, with **Representative Dotie Joseph (D-Miami)** serving as Leader Pro Tempore, **Representative Kelly Skidmore (D-Boca Raton)** as Policy Chair, **Representative Christine Hunschofsky (D-Parkland)** as Whip, and

Representative Michael Gottlieb (D-Davie) as Floor Leader. **Representative Christopher Benjamin (D-Miami Gardens)** will continue to assist **Representative Gottlieb** in coordinating debate on the House Floor.